I Heart Artz! @ CNH

Holy wow…does Tempus ever Fugit!  It’s been a month since my last post, and although there’s been content to share, I’ve also been busy with a brand new teaching gig.  The venue has been awesome – both staff and students are super-friendly and I’m absolutely lovin’ it there – but man, spare time has gone right out the window!

A while back, I wrote to share the excellent news that Central Neighbourhood House, an organization very near and dear to me (symbolically as well as geographically) applied with me for a Toronto Arts Council Community Arts grant, and lo and behold, we got it.  Over the last month or so, we’ve been getting increasingly excited for I Heart Artz – a multi-disciplinary workshop to be offered in the early months of 2016.

Current poster for I Heart ARTZ

I am now able to tell you that our all-star line-up is set to include (in addition to myself!) the supreme talents of Carlos Delgado, painter extraordinaire and two-time finalist for the NAN/TELUS Newcomer Artist Award (amongst other honours), and Jae Lejit, NY born but 100% T.O. hip hop artist and founder of his own label, 16 Bars.

You can check Carlos at his website, here and Jae’s 16 Bars site, here.

Carlos will be offering a sneaker painting workshop in January, I’ll follow suit in February with a session on making graphic novels, and Jae will bring us all home with his youth hip-hop songwriting class complete with studio recording time.  A final exhibition will be held in the Spring to celebrate the achievements of the youth throughout the workshops, and I’m currently working on a website separate to CNH’s own which will highlight the creativity of this spunky little centre – past, present, and future.

 

Leave a Reply

